Insomnia is no bueno

I’m meeting my neighbor at the local crossfit gym at 5:30 this morning. It’s our first time working out together, and I’m paranoid I’ll sleep in. So, of course, I don’t. I roll over and look at the clock, 1 am. Again, 2 am. By the time 3 am rolls around my eyes are wide open. Insomnia. Ugh.

If only I had remembered to drink an Ayurvedic hot beverage before I fell asleep last night, I bet I wouldn’t have this problem. Let me share my drink of choice. It’s divine.

My Ayurvedic sleep remedy

First, and most important, in this cast of characters is the MarketSpice Orange-Cinnamon decaf tea and boiling hot water. MarketSpice started as a small tea and spice shop in Seattle’s historic Pike Place Market in 1911. If you haven’t visited Pike Place Market, you really, really should. It’s crazy, mad Seattle fun.

Next, I highly recommend almond milk. Doesn’t matter what brand you get, but I like the kind that includes vanilla flavoring. I’m trying to get the unsweetened variety. Sometimes I lose that battle with myself when I’m at the grocery store.

Finally, the most essential ingredient on the face of the planet…honey! A big dollop of it.

And that, my friends, is how you make a hot cup of get-me-some-good-sleep.

Now, if only I had taken my own advice last night. Woe is me.

16 thoughts on “Insomnia is no bueno

  1. I was wondering what in the world you were doing leaving a comment on my blog so early yesterday morning. I do the same thing. If I’ve got a big day, something I’m really excited about ahead of me, I sometimes wonder why I even bother going to bed.

    • hehe…I guess the insomnia just adds to the excitement. Not sleeping changes up our schedules and makes that new “something” even more special.
      I was just thankful I wasn’t late for the class. You have to do four burpees, as an apology to the trainer. Eek!
      Crossfit is like being back in gym class. Squats. Jump rope. Push ups. It was actually reinvigorating.
      This morning I’m definitely feeling it, though. Every muscle in my body is sooooo sore. (But worth it. ;-))

      And now, I’m nestled into my computer chair with a cup of coffee ready to cruise the blogs I follow…and that includes yours! What beautiful scene will I see today?

  2. LOVE Market Spice tea!! It’s my fave. I try to use Blue Agave honey in it. I’ve had insomnia for years and totally feel your pain. It sucks. I try to get up and read something boring. Sometimes it works, sometimes it doesn’t.

    Loving your blog. It’s inspiring me!

      • To blog more myself, take the time to be aware, actually sign up for a yoga class like I’ve been wanting to forever…to make some MarketSpice tea and have a quiet moment. And I enjoy your writing style. 🙂

      • Just checked out your blog. So raw! I love your honesty and bravery. I read as many posts as I could last night before I got too sleepy. I can completely identify with some of those personal demons. Keep up the writing, it’s super cathartic.

  3. We talked about Market Spice tea the last time we saw each other, but I didn’t realize you use it for insomnia. I’m surprised, because I thought it was a black tea that would actually keep a person awake, but I’ll definitely try it.

    • The original MarketSpice is a black tea. I get the decaf version for night time toddies. My other favorite thing to do with MarketSpice is to brew up a batch of Iced Tea (in the summer, of course). Super yummy!

Leave a Reply

