Wild time

Today the river officially closed. A deep sigh of relief comes out of me. Not because the river is closed, so that the wild salmon can enter and thrive. No, the sigh is because today I don’t have to feel guilty for not fishing. You know, because I can’t. Brains are such weird things, aren’t they? Seriously. What is the point of guilt? I logically know this, and yet the stack of things I feel guilty about just seems to increase day by day.

Not fishing is like not scratching an itch. You’re hyper aware of it and it drives you crazy. I made a New Year’s resoltuion to myself, and I’m not fulfilling it. Oh…the guilt!

Every day I pass the river and think, “Wouldn’t it be great to be out there?” But, alas, I don’t stop because I’m late for work.

Bridge over water

Sometimes I don’t dream of flyfishing. Sometimes I just daydream about a lazy day on the river. Sitting in a boat with layers of warm clothes hugging close to my body keeping me warm. A thermos of hot tomato soup and some cold cheese sandwiches next to me. Maybe a light rain misting my face keeping my skin cool as my core radiates heat from under a layer of thermals.

Slow moving river

Hours passing by quietly without any real indicators. The world around me quiet and then loud. Small things catch my attention. A fish surfacing with a small bubble bursting. A beaver building a dam. Squirrels flinging insults at each other from across branches. A small mosquito buzzing by and sending a quick chill down my spine.

River bank

How long has it been since you had a day like that? A day where you’re entire body was relaxed, and maybe your brain was a little bored. Used to constant chatter and activity. It may take awhile to unwind, but it would happen eventually. If you let it.

Marshy field

8 thoughts on “Wild time

  1. Every day I’m out with my camera is like that. Except for the boredom. Once I’m all set up, just sitting back an waiting for the light to be just right is completely relaxing. Thought I admit there is also an underlying current of excitement, “will I get the light I want, will I be able to capture the image in my head with my camera?” Still, mostly relaxed enjoying the scenery waiting for the day to begin, or end.

      • Definitely! Even when it’s a crappy day for making photographs, bad light, weather turned, whatever, just being outdoors is the ultimate stress reliever. The same when I’m fishing. I really couldn’t care less about catching fish, just watching the river flow by is enough.

      • Well, here’s a question for you. Lighting. Do you have a resource you recommend for learning more about how to factor in lighting and get a better photo? Website, videos, book. Anything you’d recommend?

      • Are you talking about nature/landscape photos? The only lighting I use rises in the East and sets in the West 🙂 I also carry one of those small collapsable reflectors, white on one side, gold on the other, in my camera bag, but rarely use it.

        If you’re asking about flash and other off camera lighting, you are unfortunately asking the wrong person. I have heard there is some really good info on inexpensive lighting here: http://strobist.blogspot.com/

        Let me know if that helps, or if you have other questions. I’m all ears 🙂

Leave a Reply

