A family’s history thru portrait

I’ve discovered some bloggers whom I love to follow. Every time they post, I learn something new or gain some inspiration.

On my way home last night, as I was waiting at a red light I grabbed my phone and checked my email. The Blonde Coyote had published a new post. I clicked the link and took a peek.

And it was insane, she had blogged about her sister’s latest paintings. A collection called The Yolk of the Coal Apple. Even on my tiny phone screen, these paintings caught my attention and made my neurons fire.

This morning when I sat down to write, I found myself rereading The Blonde Coyote’s post. Looking at the images on a big screen. Those paintings haunted me with their beauty and story.

I mean take a look at this…

The Yolk in Apple Coal

The Macular Degeneration of History by Sarah McRae Morton

Hauntingly beautiful, right?

And it’s not just the paintings, the stories behind the images are just as beautiful. Tales of family members with fantastical lives. Surviving incredible moments and passing that knowledge on to future generations.

Go on… go read the Blonde Coyote’s post and experience this collection for yourself. What do you think?

P.S. It makes me exceedingly happy to know there are people out there in the world creating beauty. Telling stories. Sharing their lives. Thank you, Internet. Thank you Blonde Coyote.

Categories LifeTags , , , ,

5 thoughts on “A family’s history thru portrait

  1. Thanks for sharing the link to The Blonde Coyote’s post! I think your love of blogs is beginning to rub off on me. xoxox

    1. Be warned, it’s a time suck. There are just too many talented and interesting people in the world. So much to read, so little time.

  2. This is one of the things I’ve spent a lot of time thinking about lately…what I spend my time on. What I can and can’t get done. What I’m giving up when I chose to do one thing over another. Joe and I both read a book awhile back called “What I learned at Harvard Business School” or some such title. And the guy talks about FOMO (fear of missing out). There’s so much to do at Harvard, so many extracurricular activities and opportunities that invariably, no matter what you picked to do (study, attend a party or visiting lecturer, etc.) you ended up feeling FOMO. When I get around to blogging, this will be one of my themes. I saw that we have a date on the calendar for next week…Yay!!

    1. Yes! I remember your mentioning that FOMO before.
      In a sense, I think I fight that. It’s not that I worry about missing out, per se. I’m more worried that I haven’t found what I’m really good at. I am envious of those with true passion that really dig in and get really good at one thing. I don’t have a one thing…yet.

      See you soon!

  3. I relate to that envy.

    Also, there’s the question of something a person is good at vs. passionate about. Can there be passion where there is no talent, and talent without passion? Seems an obvious, yes. For me, when the two meet is when I hit the zone and feel in the flow like when I’m writing…but then why don’t I make time to write if I’m passionate about it? If you don’t make time to do something does that mean your not passionate about it? Hmmm…

Leave a Reply

Girl in a Food Frenzy

Make it, Snap it, Eat it!

Krafty Kath

Living a Modern & Creative Life

Hiking Photography

Beautiful photos of hiking and other outdoor adventures.

El Bueno, El Feo y El Malo

Capturing the good, the bad and the ugly of lesser-known Spain and now Southeast Asia

future farmers live here

starting a new life as farmers

words to shoot by

Live more. Love more. Learn more. A promise to myself.

Outdoor Adventures

Enjoying the Outdoors as a Family

Luke Heikkila

a space for my photographs

R e d t e r r a i n

Warradarge, Western Australia: 🌿 Exploring the gentle calm of wild spaces.

She's a Maineiac

just another plaid-wearin' java-sippin' girl

Wendy's Place

Farm Life & Real Food

Art is a selective re-creation of reality

© Odyssée Lévine 2012 – 2015 All rights reserved

Travels with the Blonde Coyote

Follow the Blonde Coyote and see more of the world!

Beetles In The Bush

Experiences and reflections of a Missouri entomologist

Ian Spagnolo Photography

Photography by Ian Spagnolo, Coffs Harbour & Sawtell

search previous next tag category expand menu location phone mail time cart zoom edit close