Pile up

This morning, my eyes needed a break from grey and green. So I hunted through my photo archive searching for blue skies. A crisp day to remind me it’s bright somewhere.

Fridays do that to a gal. After a long week, I need a change of view. If I can just get through one more work day, then I can enjoy a blessed weekend…of cleaning the house. I mean, of fun. <wink>

But before I can play, the work must be done. Like snow on this fence post, it’s piling up.

P.S. I love this photo. The snow is so sparkly and the yellow in the wood and the blue of the sky are so bright. It was about 12 degrees outside and the world was ruled by ice.

201212-001-3

This photo reminds me…

We were visiting my mother-in-law at the end of December. In fact, this is where we were for New Year’s Eve. When I made a committment to myself to make time for fishing and camping and yoga. And those thoughts somehow evolved into my starting forkinriver.com. Oh, whacky world. How I love you.

Staring out past that alfalfa field, the sharp lines of the mountain range filling my eyes, the air dry and stinging my nostrils, I was happy. I took the photo to remind myself of how much beauty I saw that day. And as I look back in my mind’s eye, I’m transported there.

The barn to my left with two old mares nibbling on hay. Their winter coats thick and ungroomed. Deer tracks leading from the field to the hay bales in delicate, symetrical lines. Small dots in the snow.

To my right, Grandmother Willow.

Grandmother Willow

A magnificient tree in the yard that provides much needed shade during those blazing hot summer months. In the fall, her slim leaves pile up on the ground. A laborious chore for my mother-in-law to address. And in the winter… her branches are bare and crevices are filled with powdery snow.

201212-001-7

Her bark marbled with lichen. It’s not green, it’s gold. Everything around me is blue and gold. A contrast to my native green.

Willow tree bark

Yep, that’s just what I needed to kick start my day. A change in perspective. A pile of work turning into a daydream with piles of snow.

Happy Friday! What are you daydreaming about?

Categories LifeTags , , ,

5 thoughts on “Pile up

  1. What a sunny and freezing cold day this was. You captured it beautifully!

  2. Thank you! I’ve got so much more to learn about photography.
    P.S. I love your Project 365 shots. Keep up the good work!

  3. I had scrolled to see the pictures before starting to read and thought, “Wow! Did they get snow? I’m so jealous!” Then come to find that these photos were from a different day…I love it. It reminds me to keep some of my snow and beach blue-sky day photos handy when I need a mental break or kick-start.

    Grandmother willow is magnificent!

    1. This post reminds me of a scene in Dead Poet’s Society. Have you watched that movie? The teacher asks his students to stand on top of their desks and look around. A change in perspective can be refreshing, indeed. Thanks, Robin Williams!
      P.S. Grandmother Willow is one of my most favorite trees. She’s even more gorgeous in the summer with a full canopy of leaves.

  4. Oh heck yeah, I’ve seen “Dead Poet’s Society!” Love it!! Just thinking about that scene makes me want to go stand on desk or lay on the ground or look up at the sky. In fact, maybe I’ll rewatch the film.

Leave a Reply

Girl in a Food Frenzy

Make it, Snap it, Eat it!

Krafty Kath

Living a Modern & Creative Life

Hiking Photography

Beautiful photos of hiking and other outdoor adventures.

El Bueno, El Feo y El Malo

Capturing the good, the bad and the ugly of lesser-known Spain and now Southeast Asia

future farmers live here

starting a new life as farmers

words to shoot by

Live more. Love more. Learn more. A promise to myself.

Outdoor Adventures

Enjoying the Outdoors as a Family

Luke Heikkila

a space for my photographs

R e d t e r r a i n

Warradarge, Western Australia: 🌿 Exploring the gentle calm of wild spaces.

She's a Maineiac

just another plaid-wearin' java-sippin' girl

Wendy's Place

Farm Life & Real Food

Art is a selective re-creation of reality

© Odyssée Lévine 2012 – 2015 All rights reserved

Travels with the Blonde Coyote

Follow the Blonde Coyote and see more of the world!

Beetles In The Bush

Experiences and reflections of a Missouri entomologist

Ian Spagnolo Photography

Photography by Ian Spagnolo, Coffs Harbour & Sawtell

search previous next tag category expand menu location phone mail time cart zoom edit close