Opening my heart

Like every other consumerized holiday, Valentine’s Day started out with good intentions. A day set aside to really give and receive love. And as odd as this may sound, that’s not always easy to do.

So today, I’m taking time out of my morning to think about how I love. To consider areas where I can improve. And to open my heart to others.

I don’t know if I’ve mentioned this before, but I’m a working mom. I work for a big company with a large pool of talented people. There are a whole lot of A+ overachievers who can crank up the competitive radar to unimaginable levels. Their intentions are pure. They just want to be the best they can be. But sometimes when you focus on being the best, you can stomp down a lot of other people along the way.

Why is this relevant, you might ask? Because this competitiveness bleeds through into other areas of my life. Like any muscle that you feed and use, this self-focused behavior has closed my heart in many ways. In the hunt to be more efficient and more productive, I tend to want things done my way. All of the time.

Heck, just look at yesterday’s blog post where I forced my family to eat roasted cauliflower for dinner when they probably would have preferred a box of highly processed macaroni and cheese. That’s sort of a bad example, because really my heart was in the right place. Trying to teach them to eat healthy. But in the end, it’s still me forcing my will on them.

Before I step out into the world today, I’m going to take a moment to open my heart. And to start, I’ll physically open up my heart with a few yoga poses. That mind and body connection can really help direct my focus. A physical manifestation of a mental mantra.

Open up. Let the light in. Listen to how your body feels. Listen to how others are feeling. Support unconditional love.

Cobra pose bhujangasana

If you’ve got time, give it a try. Here’s a good heart opening yoga sequence to follow.

And with that, Happy Valentine’s Day, all!

I wish you a day filled with unconditional love and selflessness.

Namaste!

Categories YogaTags , , , ,

6 thoughts on “Opening my heart

  1. When I took a moment to ponder your topic, the first thing that came to mind was me opening my heart to myself. In the past, I was so hard on myself and didn’t really love myself. That’s been changing…and is at the center of my quest for this year…to deepen my love and appreciation for me, which will be central to the calm, happy experience that I want. Great food for thought. Thanks! (And Happy Valentine’s Day, belatedly!)

    1. I love your quest this year. I’ve often heard, “you can’t really love someone else until you can love yourself”.

      1. So, if I didn’t love myself, was any bit of apparent love that I show to others actually some phoney show, or is the premise false…can you indeed love others without loving yourself?

      2. Or maybe it’s just, you can’t love someone completely until you love yourself completely.
        Deep thoughts with Annie. 😉

      3. A good warmup for Thursday…

      4. An inllgeitent point of view, well expressed! Thanks!

Leave a Reply

Girl in a Food Frenzy

Make it, Snap it, Eat it!

Krafty Kath

Living a Modern & Creative Life

Hiking Photography

Beautiful photos of hiking and other outdoor adventures.

El Bueno, El Feo y El Malo

Capturing the good, the bad and the ugly of lesser-known Spain and now Southeast Asia

future farmers live here

starting a new life as farmers

words to shoot by

Live more. Love more. Learn more. A promise to myself.

Outdoor Adventures

Enjoying the Outdoors as a Family

Luke Heikkila

a space for my photographs

R e d t e r r a i n

Warradarge, Western Australia: 🌿 Exploring the gentle calm of wild spaces.

She's a Maineiac

just another plaid-wearin' java-sippin' girl

Wendy's Place

Farm Life & Real Food

Art is a selective re-creation of reality

© Odyssée Lévine 2012 – 2015 All rights reserved

Travels with the Blonde Coyote

Follow the Blonde Coyote and see more of the world!

Beetles In The Bush

Experiences and reflections of a Missouri entomologist

Ian Spagnolo Photography

Photography by Ian Spagnolo, Coffs Harbour & Sawtell

search previous next tag category expand menu location phone mail time cart zoom edit close