Seed need

Finally picked out our seeds for the season. I chose Territorial Seed Company seeds this year. They’re based out of Oregon, and the weather conditions these seeds are familiar with are familiar to me, too. I’m a thinker like that. Or a pray-er like that. Praying that the logic of my seed selection results in the seeds sprouting, thriving, and producing in my garden.

Territorial Seed Company catalog

It may look like the kiddos and I went crazy buying seeds. But this year’s selection is actually whittled down compared to last year. Let’s just say, I’ve learned my lesson. Not everything grows in my garden. Oh…and then there’s that pesky truth…I can’t keep up with it all. So, we went big, but not BIG.

  • 2 types of carrots (orange and white)
  • 2 types of tomato (big and small)
  • Snap peas
  • Green beans
  • 2 types of potato (gold and pink)
  • Patty pans (oh, how I love these little adorable squashes)
  • Zucchini (because I love me some zucchini bread)
  • Pearl onion
  • Pumpkin (kiddos picked that out special)
  • 2 types of cucumber (slicing and pickling)

Vegetable seed packets

And, of course, a new season means new gloves. My other pair had worn down so much that there was no longer fabric covering any of my fingertips. On both hands. How does that happen? And since I’m constantly fighting barbarous Himalayan blackberry canes who want to take over everything, my fingers need some protection.

Gardening gloves with seed packets in background

Now that I’ve got my materials, I just need to dig into the soil. We’ll get the tomatoes and other indoor starts set up this week. Then I’ll have a few weekends to get the garden prepped and tidied up for the outdoor seeds. And before I know it, I’m sure spring will be in full effect and I’ll be running after her to catch up.

Back to Territorial Seed Company, I just discovered that they’ve posted some instructional videos on their website. Can’t hurt to watch these and get some tips. I need a video titled, Gardening 101: How not to kill everything; or maybe Gardening 201: Go water and weed your garden, you idiot!

Categories GardenTags , , , , ,

2 thoughts on “Seed need

  1. It’s so satisfying to pick and cook / eat things you have grown yourself. We spend summers in our summer house in the northern part of Sweden where the climate zone makes it difficult to grow certain things. Short and not too warm summers but long bright days (and nights). Our list looks pretty much like yours plus broadbeens and red onions which are favs. This year we’ll tempt fate and take a chance on butternut squash and artichoke. -:)

    1. What fun! And what yummy choices. I love butternut squash and artichoke. Wishing you a bountiful growing season.

Leave a Reply

Girl in a Food Frenzy

Make it, Snap it, Eat it!

Krafty Kath

Living a Modern & Creative Life

Hiking Photography

Beautiful photos of hiking and other outdoor adventures.

El Bueno, El Feo y El Malo

Capturing the good, the bad and the ugly of lesser-known Spain and now Southeast Asia

future farmers live here

starting a new life as farmers

words to shoot by

Live more. Love more. Learn more. A promise to myself.

Outdoor Adventures

Enjoying the Outdoors as a Family

Luke Heikkila

a space for my photographs

R e d t e r r a i n

Farm Life in Western Australia: 🌿 Exploring the gentle calm of wild spaces.

She's a Maineiac

just another plaid-wearin' java-sippin' girl

Wendy's Place

Farm Life & Real Food

Travels with the Blonde Coyote

Follow the Blonde Coyote and see more of the world!

Beetles In The Bush

Experiences and reflections of a Missouri entomologist

Ian Spagnolo Photography

Photography by Ian Spagnolo, Coffs Harbour & Sawtell

search previous next tag category expand menu location phone mail time cart zoom edit close