Peek-a-boo

It’s a dark, rainy morning. As I sit at this glowing computer screen surrounded by dim light, a sudden rush of hard-pounding rain hits the roof above me. When I close my eyes, I can imagine myself transported somewhere else. To a bright summer day at the car wash. Sitting in the drivers seat as buckets of water dump down on the roof of my car. It’s that kind of force that I’m talking about. Buckets of rain. Sayings are sayings for a reason, I guess. There’s just no better way to describe it. Buckets.

If I went out with my camera now, who knows what pictures I’d come back with. But I’m quite cozy here with my cup of hot coffee and snuggly kitten. I think I’ll just peruse photos from a few days ago, and share those with you instead.

And what does my wandering eye come across? A peek-a-boo bird house nestled into the trees surrounding a riparian wetland.

Bird house hidden in trees

Who lives here I wonder? A traveling quartet of MacGillivray’s warblers. The vanWarbler Family Singers. Maybe they’re friends with the camping frogs. I can picture the four of them quite clearly in my head. My imagination fueled by copious Walt Disney movies. Another children’s book idea tucked away in my head. Saved for a different rainy day where I can revel in the birdy world of my dreams.

Bird house nestled in trees

What would your story be about?

Categories LifeTags , , ,

2 thoughts on “Peek-a-boo

  1. I felt as if I was sitting in your parlor hearing the rain storm. I’d stay in too if I had a snuggly kitten.

    1. 🙂 It took some convincing for me to get on with my day, and to put the snuggles aside.

Leave a Reply

Girl in a Food Frenzy

Make it, Snap it, Eat it!

Krafty Kath

Living a Modern & Creative Life

Hiking Photography

Beautiful photos of hiking and other outdoor adventures.

El Bueno, El Feo y El Malo

Capturing the good, the bad and the ugly of lesser-known Spain and now Southeast Asia

future farmers live here

starting a new life as farmers

words to shoot by

Live more. Love more. Learn more. A promise to myself.

Outdoor Adventures

Enjoying the Outdoors as a Family

Luke Heikkila

a space for my photographs

R e d t e r r a i n

Farm Life in Western Australia: 🌿 Exploring the gentle calm of wild spaces.

She's a Maineiac

just another plaid-wearin' java-sippin' girl

Wendy's Place

Farm Life & Real Food

Travels with the Blonde Coyote

Follow the Blonde Coyote and see more of the world!

Beetles In The Bush

Experiences and reflections of a Missouri entomologist

Ian Spagnolo Photography

Photography by Ian Spagnolo, Coffs Harbour & Sawtell

search previous next tag category expand menu location phone mail time cart zoom edit close